My Top 100…

After my last very serious post I thought I needed to write something a little less emotional this week…

Then there was the accident in Bournemouth…

Anyone who has ever seen the Red Arrows display team will know how wonderful this pinacle of British airmanship is to behold.  Will have been enthralled and entranced by them.  Will be sharing our national shock and sadness at the accident on Saturday…  Being a fan of the Red Arrows since my childhood, I couldn’t not mention it here…  My sincere condolences to the friends and loved ones of Flt Lt Jon Egging.  Your man has lived every little boy’s dream.

Sudden and unexpected death has (for me at least) one very positive side-effect.  It reminds me to make the very best of life…

Bourton on the Water

Bourton on the Water

Yesterday I visited the Cotswolds with my daughters. Bourton-on-the-Water to be precise (not far away from the air base where I, as a naive and therefore fearless teenager, had my first flying experiences in air force gliders).  A beautiful village, bathing under lovely blue skies, with its river ambling gently amongst laughing children and sleepy picnickers…  The perfect British summer’s day in our “green and pleasant land”.  I’m experimenting to see if I can add some pics to this blog so hopefully you can see what I mean to the left of this paragraph…!

Dragon

Anyway, whilst wandering amongst the shops the strange creature to the right caught my eye.  I liked the beastie’s attitude (and price!) and decided to treat myself.  Why not, eh?  There’s a nice little corner of my garden that he’s going to populate (and from which he will probably scare my resident gang of sparrows) and every time I look at him he’s going to remind me of the 100th copy of Firebird being sold.

Naturally, I’d really hoped the book would prove interesting to people but never dared to hope to sell 100 copies.  In truth, it’s a handful of copies away from this milestone but I’m going to be away for a few weeks (writing and relaxing) so I don’t feel it’s too OTT to do something I usually never do… celebrate a little bit.

Thanks so much to all of you.  I really mean it.  I really appreciate you giving it a go and then afterwards helping me to spread the word.  In the end, your recommendations make a huge difference in helping other people to find and share the story.

Therefore – and to come back finally to the title of this post – you guys are… whoever you are… my Top 100: the first 100 people on the planet to have read this particular novel… and I am so very grateful to you all.

About anthonybellaleigh

Writing to amuse myself and entertain others. (https://anthonybellaleigh.wordpress.com)

Posted on August 22, 2011, in Books, Firebird, General, Random and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

