Halloween is creeping up on us (new short story available)…

A little ghostlie...A writer friend of mine (The Mistress of the Dark Path) is running a Halloween themed short story competition on her blog site.

Normally I don’t get involved in this kind of thing but, as I was laid up with my bad back at the weekend (now thankfully getting better!), I thought to myself, ‘Why not?’

A couple of random hours later I’d knocked up the requisite thousand words, managed to weave in a bit of a fun (a potentially dangerous habit of mine as this time it involves the Mistress herself (thankfully she has a great sense of humour)) and satisfactorily de-spooked myself for another year.  It’s not perfect (by any standard) but it was an amusing interlude to my normal writing.

She’s had quite a few entries and one of the rules is that I can’t post the story here until after the closing date so, if you’re interested in having a look before the big day itself (or fancy having a go for yourself!), follow the link at the bottom of this post and see if you like the little “ghostlies” that are gathering there (mine is lurking somewhere in the middle)… Enjoy…

Time for me to get back to Thunder now.

Follow this link to check out the Mistress of the Dark Path’s October Short Story Competition

About anthonybellaleigh

Writing to amuse myself and entertain others. (https://anthonybellaleigh.wordpress.com)

Posted on October 24, 2011, in Friends, Random, Short Stories, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Glad you participated in the contest. Your story was great! I’m not sure where this rumor started that I had a sense of humor, though. I deny all accusations to this. Anyway, I’m off to finish my latest review of dirt that someone requested. It’s a dirty job, but someone has to do it.

    Like

    • Regarding your sense of humour, Mistress: ’tis true, a more evil and utterly mirthless creature would be hard to find. But as your most humble and grovelling wretch-slave I considered it prudent to lull the innocent visitors into a false sense of security… Gulp!! (Am about to scurry off to your site to find out how dirty you have been…)

      Like

Leave a Reply

