Ever Wonder…?

New Year’s Eve approaches and, for me, it’ll likely be a quiet evening at home, with a few glasses of bubbly and the television for company.  I’m not too bothered about this, I like New Year for a different reason.

The parties, merrymaking and singsongs are echoes of ancient celebrations of renewal.  A fresh starting point.  A chance to say, “Out with the old and in with the new.”  Many people will make personal resolutions as a means to stimulate change – but not me, I don’t like resolutions.  Don’t get me wrong: setting demanding but achievable personal targets is a fantastic way of driving self-improvement but why limit their use to once per annum?  Why run the risk of starting the year with failure?  Nope, I’ll set myself resolutions whenever I need them.  New Year might be a good place to start but I’ll not be constrained to it.

So what is it that I love about New Year?  Well, I like to use this holiday to stop for a second or two and look backwards.  To reflect on what’s changed or been done in the last twelve months…

We spend so much of our lives gazing, often worriedly, into a future full of undiscovered fears, concerns, ambitions and desires that we rarely pause and acknowledge what we’ve actually achieved.  Big or small, our successes provide us with a platform for the next twelve months of endeavour.  Can feed us with new energy and motivation.  Will undoubtably, when we take a moment to consider them, be a positive and pleasant surprise for us.

For me, a look back at 2011 includes some amazing highlights:

  • Leading hundreds of guys to deliver their best ever winter delivery performance, during the worst winter for a hundred years, to some of the UK’s biggest companies.
  • Then, less than six months later, getting made redundant from that same role and finding myself having to push off in a new direction – an experience which always really tests self-esteem and courage.
  • Yet, amongst this, I was also lucky enough to get to visit (and escape from) several countries including the USA (Aspen), Finland (for Midsummer), Greece (Lesbos) and Yorkshire (twice)…
  • My revised work schedules meant I was suddenly gifted with more time at home that I have enjoyed for over a decade.  I’ve therefore been able to play host to my daughters on several occasions and have singularly failed to poison them with my cooking (so far).  This is a small, yet priceless, luxury for a live-away dad.
  • This was, of course, also the year during which I completed the final edit (of many final edits) of Firebird and then learned the ultimate patience-stretching art of e-book formatting and publication.
  • It was the year in which I met many new, interesting and exciting friends amongst the Indie writer community.
  • It was the year in which I started a blog site – this site – which has incredibly had over 1,500 visits.
  • Was the year that Firebird managed to creep into, and then keep itself in, both the UK and US Amazon Technothriller Top 100’s.

What a year…

My imagination is insanely active but I’d never have dreamed of setting resolutions that looked like any of the above.

So, goodness only knows what 2012 might look like…

I wonder what fantastic things it will bring for you, too?

About anthonybellaleigh

Writing to amuse myself and entertain others. (https://anthonybellaleigh.wordpress.com)

Posted on December 31, 2011, in Books, Firebird, Friends, Random and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Well said, Anthony, and it does sound like you had a lot to be thankful for as well as a lot of changes.

    On this side of the Pond, my family will be flying low in regards to celebrating and late night shenanigans. In fact, I’ll probably be asleep before midnight!

    And like you, I too set goals all year long and don’t see New Years Eve as THE stellar event many make it out to be.

    All that to say, from my family to yours, Happy New Year!

    Like

    • Too true, JL. Midnight seems to come around a lot later than when I was a youngster… Tell you what: I’ll race you to sleep (knowing full well that I have a handy time-difference to my advantage). And, come on, play fair, no cheating now – afternoon naps don’t count! :) Happy New Year to you and yours!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

