Tomato Time…

Yes, it’s almost time for my annual pilgrimage to Finland and I’m looking forward to meeting up with friends and family over there.

This year’s visit is timed to coincide with the local town’s Tomato Carnival which celebrates the community’s agricultural cornerstone of… you guessed it… tomatoes.  Blog regulars will be familiar with this concept and there are even a couple of photos in here somewhere.

It’s always fascinating for me to have chance to visit, what is for me, a completely different lifestyle: almost a different world.  Where noise consists mainly of the sounds of wildlife, where affluence is having fresh food and a good fire, where happiness blossoms from simple social interaction and rich conversation.  The Finns do always make me feel so very welcome.

Work has been, what can only be described as, “mental” for these last few weeks and, whilst this has been going on, I’ve only been able to find enough moments to continue to develop the story-lines, content, and characters for the next novel.  As a result, I’m also looking forward to getting some solid writing time whilst I’m away.  I’m really itching to start drafting; whole passages are queuing up in my head and bursting to get out!  And I might even have finally settled on the book’s title, but I’m not quite ready to share that, yet…

Firebird and Thunder continue to tick over gently, which is a real delight, and I’ve even received some nice encouragement from readers recently.  So, wish me luck: it’s time to get Book Three started…!

About anthonybellaleigh

Writing to amuse myself and entertain others. (https://anthonybellaleigh.wordpress.com)

Posted on June 30, 2013, in Books, Friends, General, Previews, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Good luck with the new draft! It’s always fun to start a book. I like mine until somewhere past the dreaded middle, then it can feel like WORK for a while until I hit the wrap-up chapters. So enjoy the beginning. I love tomatoes in all forms–dried, relish, jam, fresh, cooked–the works. A tomato festival sounds like great fun. Have a great vacation.

    Like

  2. Great post, Anthony! Enjoy Finland and hope you get some writing in, too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

